Undergraduate Leaders' Program 2017

About APRU

Association of Pacific Rim Universities

Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) was established in 1997 as a reflection of the rapid economic integration of the region and the formation of APEC. Today APRU is a premier alliance of 45 leading research universities from 17 APEC economies including the world’s 3 largest (USA, Canada, Mexico, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Korea, Japan, China and Hong Kong SAR, Chinese Taipei, and Russia) with over 140,000 faculty members and 2 million students, serving as an advisory body to international organizations, governments and business on the development of science and innovation as well as on the broader development of higher education.
APRU's Strategic Framework reflects the priorities of member universities in education, research and contribution to society:
  1. Shaping Asia-Pacific Higher Education and Research
    APRU universities together aim to shape the policy environment for higher education and research in the region.
  2. Creating Asia-Pacific Global Leaders
    APRU universities cooperate to enhance their global leadership as institutions and the leadership of faculty, administrators and students.
  3. Partnering on Solutions to Asia-Pacific Challenges
    APRU universities work together and with partners from government and business, international organizations, other universities and community leaders on solutions to global and regional challenges.
FEFU’s participation in APRU is aimed at fostering economic, technical and cultural interaction of Russia with the countries of the Asia-Pacific region, and will ensure the country’s integration into the academic, economic, technological and cultural space of the Asia-Pacific region. (Priority Development Trend # 5 under the Development Program of Far Eastern Federal University for 2010-2019).