Far Eastern Federal University has joined the ranks of the country’s leading universities, whose programs to enhance the international competitiveness received the highest evaluation by the Council on Competitiveness Enhancement of Leading Russian Universities among Global Research and Education Centers.

The project on enhancing the competitiveness of the leading Russian universities among the world's leading research and education centers (5-100 Project) was launched in 2012 in accordance with the provisions of the Presidential Decree as a tool to build research capacity of the group of national universities and to strengthen their competitive position in the global market of the research and education programs.

By 2020, in accordance with the Presidential Decree at least five Russian universities have to enter Top 100 world universities rankings, and at least 15 of them - Top 200 rankings.

Besides at least 5 Russian universities to be included in Top 100 world universities rankings, the main objective of the project is the emergence in Russia by 2020 of the modern leading universities with an effective management structure and the international academic reputation, able to meet the world’s development trends and to respond promptly to the global changes.

Дальневосточный федеральный университет вошел в число ведущих вузов страны, чьи программы повышения международной конкурентоспособности получили высочайшую оценку Совета по повышению конкурентоспособности ведущих университетов Российской Федерации среди ведущих мировых научно-образовательных центров.

Проект повышения конкурентоспособности ведущих российских университетов среди ведущих мировых научно-образовательных центров (Проект 5–100) был запущен в соответствии с положениями Указа Президента Российской Федерации в 2012 году как инструмент наращивания научно-исследовательского потенциала группы национальных университетов и укрепления их конкурентных позиций на глобальном рынке образовательных услуг и исследовательских программ. 

В соответствии с Указом Президента, к 2020 году не менее пяти российских университетов должны войти в сотню лучших в мире, не менее 15 – в ТОР-200.

Помимо вхождения не менее 5 российских университетов в первую сотню мировых рейтингов вузов, основная цель проекта – появление в России к 2020 году современных университетов-лидеров с эффективной структурой управления и международной академической репутацией, способных соответствовать мировым тенденциям развития и мобильно реагировать на глобальные изменения.