FEFU International Admission Office:

+7 (423) 265 24 24 (ext. 2206)
Jun 8, 2017 - FEFU News
Russky Island to develop as an education and research cluster

Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev approved the Concept for Russky Island Development. The document envisages the development of the territory, first of all, as an education and research cluster, the center of which will be Far Eastern Federal University (FEFU). It is planned that by 2027 a full-fledged university city will be created on the island.

"This place is unique; I think all those present visited it. The modern campus of Far Eastern Federal University and Oceanarium are up and running on the island at present. But its potential is much wider. As part of the concept, the island should become one of the key sites for Russia's integration into the Asia-Pacific region," Dmitry Medvedev said at the meeting with vice premiers of the Russian government.

According to Yuri Trutnev, Russian Deputy Prime Minister and Presidential Envoy to the Far Eastern Federal District, the concept envisages the development of the island as an education and research cluster. The plans will be implemented primarily through private investments.

The document was developed by the Ministry for the Development of the Russian Far East in pursuance of the instructions of the President of Russia following the results of the 2016 Eastern Economic Forum. The main goal is to make Russky Island a center of attraction for high-tech projects and companies.

The concept will be implemented in two stages. In 2017–2022, it is planned to create conditions necessary for attracting private investments: setting-up a territory of priority socioeconomic development, and construction of road and utilities infrastructure.

During the second stage, up to 2027, investment projects are to be implemented and the FEFU infrastructure to be further developed with the construction of a full-fledged university city. The signed order provides for the construction of the second stage of the university, including academic buildings, laboratories, a library, technology and innovation park, children's technopark, and other facilities.