About the Institute

The ocean is fraught with many mysteries. Researches show that only 5% of the ocean is explored. The Institute of the World Ocean was formed on the basis of the Far Eastern Federal University with the goal to provide a platform for possible discoveries in the study of the World Ocean. The Institute unites all educational programs related to marine topics. The location of the university campus, on the coast of the Sea of ​​Japan, opens up many opportunities for research activities.

The FEFU Institute of the World Ocean studies marine organisms living in the ocean, various properties of the ocean: both chemical and physical. Students study hydrology, oceanology, meteorology. Much attention is paid to underwater engineering. Scientists and students of IWO FEFU design and launch underwater robots that allow them to descend to great depths, study the organisms that live there, and also extract resources that were not previously available to the humankind. The list of educational programs includes not also marine-related programs, but also the protection of coastal ecosystems, the study of terrestrial biodiversity, hydrology of inland waters, agroecology and many other areas.

First and second year of the Bachelor’s programs students participate in summer training field practices. They gain skills in working in expeditionary conditions, collecting biological material, as well as analyzing the properties of the atmosphere and hydrosphere.

In senior years, students must complete research work to graduate from the university. It will be carried out on the basis of the laboratory of our Institute and also on the basis of the laboratory of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Students are given a unique opportunity to participate in various research expeditions in the vast oceans.

The teaching laboratories of the Institute of the World Ocean are equipped with the latest facilities and technologies. The material and technical base of the educational process is constantly being updated.

Graduates of the Institute of the World Ocean have the opportunity to find employment in large public corporations, research institutes and private laboratories, including those specializing in healthcare and environmental protection.

The IWO is consistently increasing its contribution to global initiatives in the field of ocean exploration and conservation. Our scientists and experts are actively involved in the implementation of the Decade of Ocean Sciences for Sustainable Development (2021-2030), declared by the United Nations


Your discoveries tomorrow begin with the right choices today. We will be glad to see you at the FEFU Institute of the World Ocean!